2011 VMA’s

August 29, 2011

Entertainment

Lady Gaga opened the MTV Video Music Awards with a monologue mocking one of her exes. I’m not a fan of Gaga’s, but I thought that idea was genius. The big news of the show was Beyonce announcing that she’s pregnant. I guess Jay-Z was foreshadowing a little bit in the song ‘New Day’ off the ‘Watch the Throne’ album, when he rapped about his unborn son. The first award went to Britney Spears for “Best Pop Artist”. ‘Otis’ was performed by Jay-Z and Kanye West, which I wasn’t expecting.  In the middle of the performance a fan ran on stage, but was quickly apprehended by security. The performance wasn’t affected they still finished. It’s one of the best songs on the ‘Watch The Throne’ album. Nicki Minaj won the award for Best Hip Hop Video; I felt either Kanye or Chris Brown should have won. Kanye did receive redemption by sharing an award for ‘Best Collaboration’ on Katy Perry’s song ‘E.T.’. Adele did a great job with her performance, but I was distracted by her hairstyle, was that a wig she was wearing? Kim Kardashian coming out to present the best male video was a treat. Beber fever is alive; Justin Beiber won Best Male Video. Shout out to Chris Brown for doing a dance routine to ‘Protect Your Neck’ by the Wu-Tang Clan. The tribute to Britney Spears was real cool as she received the Michael Jackson Vanguard Award, but nothing is better than seeing Beyonce perform. It was fantastic, and afterwards the cameras immediately showed Jay-Z who couldn’t be more proud of his wife and mother of his child. Tyler the Creator won Best New Artist edging out Wiz Khalifa, who for some reason I don’t think was too upset because he still gets to go home with Amber Rose. Lady Gaga’s weirdness finally exposed itself when she received the award for Best Video with A Message for her song ‘Born This Way’. Katy Perry won her second award of the night for Best Video of the Year. Lil’ Wayne’s performance once again showed why I don’t really care for him. He attempted to sing and it seemed like he’s still using auto-tune, which sounded horrible.  He then attempted to do a rock performance which some people may have enjoyed but, I think he needs to master the art of rap before he attempts to butcher another genre of music. On another note, unfortunately, Kevin Hart didn’t get much air time to actually host. I hope you enjoyed the awards. Congratulations to Jay-Z and Beyonce!!!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “2011 VMA’s”

  1. kaw77 Says:

    This was a great show indeed. I’m happy to see Beyonce and Jay Z showed they are one happy family :o)

    Reply

    • Kuwan Cornelius Says:

      Shoutout to my most loyal visitor and good friend kaw77. You my dear supplied my site with the 100th comment. 100 comments out of 1,500 visitors…. It’s sad, but oh well…. Thanks to those who have left comments, keep it coming.

      Reply

  2. victorious Says:

    so how many kids does this make for J? 3?

    Reply

  3. Amos Baptiste Says:

    I think Wiz should have won best new artist as he had more hit singles than all the other new artist all together. As for the Jay-Z and Lil Wayne situation, Jay and Kanye had the better performance in my opinion. But now we got Beyonce saying she pregnant and it being posted in the front page of NY post?!!! I mean I’m happy for her and Jay but a lot of women care more about her being pregnant then themselves being pregnant. Her pregnancy can’t help me in no way as I may never see or speak to that kid.

    Reply

  4. hotshot bald cop Says:

    Do really assume this is true?

    Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 VMA's (via Wan's 2 Cents) « littlewarlock - August 29, 2011

    […] 2011 VMA's (via Wan's 2 Cents) 29 08 2011 Lady Gaga opened the show with a  monologue mocking one of her ex's. I'm not a fan of Gaga's, but I thought that idea was genius. The big news of the show was Beyonce announcing that she's pregnant. I guess Jay-Z was foreshadowing a little bit in the song 'New Day' off the 'Watch The Throne' album, when he rapped about his unborn son. The first award went to Britney Spears for "Best Pop Artist". 'Otis' was preformed by Jay-Z and Kanye West, which … Read More […]

Leave a comment