Mayor Bloomberg, Wow!!! Did He Just Say That???

July 19, 2011

Top Stories

Last night, I was watching NY1 and their story on Mayor Bloomberg visiting the family of  Leiby Kletzky, the eight year-old boy who was kidnapped and murdered by Levi Aron. I commend Mayor Bloomberg for going to speak to the family, but something he said while addressing the media didn’t quite sit well with me. If you watch the video, at 00:16 (the quote is also in print below the video) , Bloomberg seems to be blaming this horrible criminal act on God. Please excuse me if I’m off base, but it immediately seemed to me that the Mayor was out of line. Don’t get me wrong I’m not even remotely close to being a man of strong religion, and I know the subject of religion can be a delicate topic of conversation. Bloomberg is human, and we all make mistakes, but I don’t think God is the one you should be pointing fingers at…. Please feel free to comment on this. Could I be just overreacting or was Bloomberg out of line?

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Mayor Bloomberg, Wow!!! Did He Just Say That???”

  1. MP Says:

    I hear what you’re saying, K. I doubt he meant to let that psycho off the hook, but yeah, not sure God is the culprit.

    Reply

  2. Chevoun Anthony Says:

    We are free beings. We have choices. Levi Aron decided to kindnapp and murder that child. That was the choice he made. God is not the one to blame for this. God is Love.

    Reply

  3. Jake Says:

    I think you’re blowing the comment out of proportion. People who believe in God believe that he created the world and has control over how the world works. Bloomberg was just saying he doesn’t always understand why the world is the way it is. There are many differences between those who believe in God, and Bloomberg obviously believes that God controls others’ actions. I think if Bloomberg’s comment didn’t sit well with you, you’re not just upset with Bloomberg, but you’re irritated by religious people who believe in fate and who believe in a higher power. A lot of people use religion to explain the events that happen in the world, and in this case, Bloomberg is using God as an explanation as to why Kletsky was killed.

    Reply

  4. Kuwan Cornelius Says:

    I could not have blown Bloomberg’s statement out of proportion because it is an actual quote from him, which is why I uploaded the video. If you feel he said that based on his religious belief, then don’t you think it might be inappropriate for a political figure, a mayor at that, to publicly express such a polarizing statement while speaking to the media? Using god to explain why people commit heinous crimes is irresponsible. That idea would counter why God created us with the power to think for ourselves. If what you claim is true, then can we blame God for the acts of slave masters and Hitler? I would hope that the mayor of New York City is a lot smarter than that.

    Reply

  5. Jake Says:

    You raise a lot of thought-provoking ideas Kuwan. First: I don’t think you understand what “blowing something out of proportion” means. Just because Bloomberg actually said what he did, doesn’t mean it can’t be blown out of proportion. I don’t think the people and reporters who heard Bloomberg say, “I don’t know why God sometimes does some things,” were “polarized” or taken aback by the comment.

    I think Bloomberg’s interview was very similar to many interviews of athletes who thank god for their success. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard sports stars get asked how they are so talented or how they just won and the first thing they do is they credit God.

    I don’t think the comment was inappropriate or irresponsible because it is simply a Christian belief and we’re in a Christian nation. He’s allowed to believe what he wants. Christianity is an integral part of politics, just look at the fact that every president has been Christian, and that saying things that defy Christian morals can hurt a candidate’s chances of being elected.

    To respond to this: “If what you claim is true, then can we blame God for the acts of slave masters and Hitler? I would hope that the mayor of New York City is a lot smarter than that.” I must first say that I don’t agree with Bloomberg’s beliefs so when you ask “then can we blame God…” I think you really mean to ask ‘then would Bloomberg blame God…’ I think that Bloomberg would definitely say that God affected everything, whether that was Kletsky’s killer, Hitler, or any other evil person. I know it seems crazy, and I certainly don’t believe it represents any kind of intelligence to blame God, but smart people do it. Look at Abraham Lincoln’s second inaugural address. He basically blames God for the war and says that God will end the war when he thinks the time is right (e.g. “if God wills that it continue until all the wealth piled by the bondsman’s two hundred and fifty years of unrequited toil shall be sunk, and until every drop of blood drawn with the lash shall be paid by another drawn with the sword, as was said three thousand years ago, so still it must be said ‘the judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether'”). This is very similar to Bloomberg’s comment and yet, Lincoln was seen as one of the smartest and most heroic presidents, so we can’t say he’s stupid for blaming in God or believing in fate.

    Reply

  6. Kuwan Cornelius Says:

    Once again… I have not blown anything out of proportion because Bloomberg said the actual statement. I don’t know how I can make that much clearer?! In no way have I altered his quote, nor have I reached for far fetched explanations as to why he said what he said. If you don’t believe it was a strong statement then why was it quoted? It not only as a sot (sound of tape) in video, but also quoted in print… As far as athletes crediting God, I’ve heard them say they would like to thank God for allowing them the opportunity they’ve recieved. I don’t think I can recall ever hearing an athlete say I would like to thank God for scoring a certain amount of points, throwing a touchdown, hitting a 150 mph serve, or a 500ft home run… I think they are well aware that God did not commit the act. They are aware that they’re responsible for the feat being accomplished. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe Bloomberg is Jewish, so I don’t know where you’re going with the whole Christian thing… I dont think its an accurate comparison of a inaugural speech from thousands of years ago to a statement made to media in 2011, especially when one has been in office and has been facing the media for about a decade. I never called Bloomberg stupid, but I did give him the benefit of the doubt that he may have made a mistake due to the fact that he is human, and we all do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

